Pets

Ya girl (not your girl) has had many animals live in her home and in her heart during her time on this planet.

Our first pet was a puppy. I’m not sure what his name was but I know that 5 year old me was very afraid of him. I’m not sure why though. He was the smallest thing and was so playful and I don’t think he ever mauled me like Chocolate and Chilli have. I can’t remember how long we had him but it wasn’t for very long because he died while he was still a pup. I just remember seeing him still, in a box and my parents told me he passed. I put a pink flower on top of his body then went on to do more 5 year old things. Years later my sister confessed to me her greatest shame: she believed she was responsible for his death after feeding him cheesy snacks. Sad to say, I laughed at her until I cried real tears because she had been carrying this guilt for at least a decade y’all. I’m pretty sure puppies are resilient to withstand ingestion of one cheesewhatsit, but RIP nonetheless.

RIPStewie.gif

😥

Our next pet was a kitten, which didn’t work out so well either. So we get the cat, ya girl (not your girl) is eggcited. Dad says you have to put butter on their feet so they stay in the house. ERKS!? Say what!? This is a thing y’all. According to my father at least. Do other Lucians do this? Do other people in other countries do this? Let me know below. Anyway, we put the butter on the kitten’s feet and she hid under my parents’ bed and licked it off and things seemed to be going well. Then she disappeared. The butter had the exact OPPOSITE effect fam! Idk how or where but she snuck out the house, never to be seen again.

Sneak.gif

Actual footage of the kitten sneaking away

 

There were other cats. For a time, there were scores of cats living around our house. They were just always around mehn. There was the brown one who was the prettiest and she’d be pregnant every couple months. She gave birth to the white kitten who was the first (not the last) cat to ever scratch me. There was the big, white male cat whose job seemed to be inseminating all the females. There was another ginger male who was white male’s arch nemesis. I used to feed them food scraps and give them milk every now and then. Sometimes I stole spices from my mom’s spice rack to see if they’d still drink peppery or paprika-ey milk. They did!

All the cats lived together in (relative) harmony. Then, everything changed when the dog nation attacked.

tenor

We got a dog, named her Rose. Original, je sais. She wasn’t anything special, just a dog we got from idk where. I wasn’t particularly fond of Rose. My fear of dogs had already settled in thanks to the fiesty little dog who lived 3 houses down from ours. Rose was aite I guess. I don’t remember her being too troublesome, she just stayed in her house in the yard and didn’t bother nobody. However, Rose was quite the hottie with a body among the neighbourhood dogs and as such, she was preggers within a few months of being with us. I remember this so vividly. One morning we just saw this big white puppy in Rose’s house and were so perplexed as to how she could have just one puppy with that belly. I guess we thought his size explained it BUT NO! The next day, 3 more puppies appeared and her litter was complete. I can’t remember all their names, but there was one female puppy that looked exactly like Rose and we named her Fluffy. A misnomer because she wasn’t particularly fluffy at all. There were two puppies who looked exactly alike, a sandy colour. We named one of them Chicken and I can’t remember the smaller one’s name. We gave away BigWhitePup and Fluffy, but kept the two tan pups. The smaller one died in infancy, but the other one stayed with us for years and outlived his mom. I can’t remember how Rose or Chicken died, but again, I wasn’t particularly fond of them. Is that callous of me? Perhaps. RIP to the fallen.

RIP.gif

It’s so hardddd to say goodbyyyye to yesterdayyyy

 

Before Chicken’s demise though, we thought it would be a great idea to get another cat. Now I must admit the timeline of our pets is almost as confusing as that of the Legend of Zelda, but I’m pretty sure there was a cat around during Chicken’s reign. For some reason, I can’t remember that cat’s name, but I can see a memory of chicken barking at this brown and white cat one morning as she was inside the house and he was outside. I remember it because it was the first time I saw a cat’s hairs stand up on their back as they’re frightened. She just about doubled in size as her fight or flight response kicked in. But that is all I remember of her. We had a long period of having no pets after this because, as you can tell, we just were not fortunate in that area and everybody kept dying!

Chanel.gif

Then we got Whiskers. Now, I should note that this was before I vowed to name all my pets after foods. Whiskers was this beautiful brown tom cat who lived with us for a good amount of time. I want to say at least 3 years. He would often leave the house to go see his girlfriends for weeks at a time. There was one time when he didn’t come home for like 3 months. Imagine our surprise when he sauntered into the house, pure skin and bones, and laid in the kitchen like he had been there the whole time. Unfortunately, he would again disappear for one last time, with no return. I was sad that time. Lest you all thought I was a sociopath and didn’t care at all for these fallen pets.

Reginacry.gif

*sniffles*

After whiskers came what I’d like to describe as the golden age of our pets. The ones I can actually remember whom I had a legit bond with. More on them in a subsequent broadcast.

Do you have pets? Let me know in the comments down below, said in true blogger-esque fashion. Because I’m a blogging blogger who blogs now.

Kloveyallbyyyyyye

Verse of the day: “A righteous man regards the life of his animal, But the tender mercies of the wicked are cruel.” – Proverbs 12:10 NKJV

One thought on “Pets

Leave a comment